A Proud And Historic Moment For Drowning Prevention, The UN and Ireland

The United Nations General Assembly has approved the first ever resolution on Drowning Prevention. The resolution was an initiative of both Ireland and Bangladesh who along with co-sponsoring member states can be proud of this historic UN effort to save lives. An important, memorable day for the drowning prevention community worldwide.

Read the resolution here

Visit the WHO campaign page

Statement from Uachtarán Na hÉireann, President of Ireland Michael D. Higgins

President of Ireland and Water Safety Ireland Patron, Michael D. Higgins is lending his support to World Drowning Prevention Day.

Read His Message Here

Joint message from Taoiseach Micheál Martin and the Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina

Anyone can drown, but no one should – An Taoiseach Micheál Martin, T.D. leads calls for safety on the first UN World Drowning Prevention Day on 25 July 2021.

Water is essential for — and gives us — life. But it can also take it away.

By Ambassador Geraldine Byrne Nason, the permanent representative of Ireland to the United Nations in New York and Ambassador Rabab Fatima, permanent representative of Bangladesh, and other contributors.

Read more

Water Safety Ireland welcomes UN Resolution on Drowning Prevention

In Ireland in each of the last ten years, an average of 115 people lost their lives to drowning. Thankfully that number is falling. In 2020, 76 people drowned. But our target has to be zero. July 25th has been declared World Drowning Prevention Day. A day to remember loved ones lost. Make it your day one by practicing water safety in everything you do. Together, let’s bring our drownings down for good.

Statement on behalf of the WSI Council From The Chairman, Martin O’Sullivan

Read More

GO BLUE FOR WORLD DROWNING PREVENTION DAY

We are going blue for World Drowning Prevention Day and encouraging everybody to go blue too. No matter who you are, you can play a role in highlighting drowning prevention worldwide. Consider illuminating your organisations’ building in the colour blue, light up a window in your area or bring the colour blue and #DrowningPrevention to your social media networks with our shareable images.

Images With WSI Logos
For WSI Members & Lifesaving Training Centres
Download The We’re Going Blue Instagram Template (With Logos)
Download The We’re Going Blue Facebook/Twitter Graphic (With Logos)
Download The I’m Going Blue Instagram Template (With Logos)
Download The I’m Going Blue Facebook/Twitter Graphic (With Logos)
Images Without WSI Logos
For General Use
Download The We’re Going Blue Instagram Template (Without Logos)
Download The We’re Going Blue Facebook/Twitter Graphic (Without Logos)
Download The I’m Going Blue Instagram Template (Without Logos)
Download The I’m Going Blue Facebook/Twitter Graphic (Without Logos)

WIN A LIMITED EDITION WATER SAFETY IRELAND SWIM CAP IN OUR COMPETITION

Be in with a chance of winning one of our limited edition swim caps by going blue on social media.

  1. Comment with your own photo using blue facepaint.
  2. Tag @WaterSafetyIreland on Facebook and Instagram, or @IWSie on Twitter.
  3. Include #DrowningPrevention in your post.

Find our more on our social media channels.

Facebook
Instagram
Twitter

IRELAND GOES BLUE FOR WORLD DROWNING PREVENTION DAY – JULY 25 2021

See our gallery to find out how Ireland is going blue for World Drowning Prevention Day.

Lots of people are marking this historic day to raise awareness for drowning prevention and water safety.

Join them in commemorating this special occasion.

Anyone can drown – no one should.

Visit Our Image Gallery

Help Bring Our Drownings Down

Share Our Messages

Early Learning and Care

Every Early Learning And Care Centre in Ireland has now received our latest water safety resource which is packed with colourful storyboards and tips that Educators are imparting to young children in their care.

Mark WDPD as an Educator by sharing the resource pack between classes – all storyboards are laminated for easy cleaning.

Mark WDPD as a parent or guardian by continuing that conversation at home.

Everything you need is here: www.holdhands.ie.

Primary School Children

Our online learning resource is written and designed for all primary school age groups. It has beautiful illustrations, a wealth of tips and advice, and all sorts of interactive games and puzzles to reinforce important lessons.

It offers simple common sense that every parent can easily guide their children through while having fun too.

Mark WDPD by engaging with your children through these resources.

Everything you need is here: www.teachpaws.ie

Become An Ambassador

Our friends and loved ones all deserve to know how they can stay safe from drowning when enjoying our beautiful waterways.

Mark WDPD: Become a Water Safety Ireland Ambassador by sharing any of the following advice using #DrowningPrevention and together, let’s bring drownings down.

Rip Currents

Rip currents: what are they and what do I do to escape one?

Share any of the resources here: https://watersafety.ie/rip-currents/

Angling

Safe Angling: Share our videos on safe angling at rivers and lakes and detailed guidelines to plan a perfectly safe trip: https://watersafety.ie/angling/

Open Water Swimming

Safe Open Water Swimming:

Open water swimming has both physical and mental health benefits for us all.

Share any of our five safety videos, safety brochure, hypothermia leaflet, real time information about coastal and freshwater water temperatures around Ireland, tides, and water quality.

All available here: https://watersafety.ie/open-water-swimming/

Videos

Together, We Can Prevent Drownings

Anyone Can Drown – No One Should

Minister Humphreys welcomes UN World Drowning Prevention Day (25 July)

IMAGES

Our images are available in a number of formats. Share with them with your networks using #DrowningPrevention in advance of July 25th and on World Drowning Prevention Day itself.

No Swimming Lessons For A Year – Know Your Limits (Landscape)
No Swimming Lessons For A Year – Know Your Limits (Square)
Before You Get Out On The Water Get Into A Lifejacket (Landscape)
Before You Get Out On The Water Get Into A Lifejacket (Square)
Before You Get Out On A Boat Get Into A Lifejacket (Landscape)
Before You Get Out On A Boat Get Into A Lifejacket (Square)
No Pub Is No Excuse – Don’t Bring It To The Beach (Landscape)
No Pub Is No Excuse Don’t Bring It To The Beach (Square)
You’ve Stayed Safe All Year – Don’t Stop Now (Landscape)
You’ve Stayed Safe All Year – Don’t Stop Now (Square)
Don’t Let A Year Of Distancing Stop You Being Safe (Landscape)
Don’t Let A Year Of Distancing Stop You Being Safe (Square)

World Drowning Prevention Day Guidance For Organizations

DOWNLOAD NOW

Webinar To Celebrate World Drowning Prevention Day

Objectives:

To reflect on WDPD 2021 commemorations, explore priority actions post UN Resolution on Global Drowning Prevention, and generate momentum for national, local action. Speakers from across WHO, UNICEF and drowning prevention experts from all regions.

When:

Jul 28, 2021 12:30 PM Brussels, Auckland 22:30, Sydney 20:30, Bangkok 17:30, New Delhi 16:00, Geneva 12:30, London 11:30, Rio 7:30 New York 6:30, Vancouver 3:30, Honolulu 0:30.

Register in advance for this webinar HERE.